Canadian Yearly Meeting 2021 is virtual from August 8-14
Poetry Retreat is on August 7

For #CYM2021 we will again gather with a spirit of #hope.

Get ready for Yearly Meeting:

  1. Register and volunteer (anytime up to the end of #CYM2021).
    To participate in worship sharing, register [above link] by August 5th.
  2. To join the Aug 7th Poetry Retreat, please complete the retreat registration by August 5th. [Apologies – this retreat registration was inadvertently difficult to find]
  3. Register your children or grandchildren for the Youth Program and encourage others to register. This will involve minimal screen time.
  4. Make your payment (consider adding a donation amount).
  5. Make sure you subscribe to the CYM Newsletter for notice of updates.
  6. Use #CYM2021 in your social media posts
  7. If you have an event during August that is not part of the CYM schedule, please consider submitting it to the CYM Fringe.
  8. Get in touch with Program Committee via our feedback form

Key Events

Sunderland P. Gardner Lecture

Sunday August 8 2021
1:30 Pacific | 2:30 Mountain | 3:30 Central | 4:30 Eastern | 5:30 Atlantic | 6 Newfoundland
90 minutes
lecture is preceded by about 30 minutes of gathering worship
followed by traditional refreshments in thanksgiving

Love and Justice, Hope and Imagination
by Monica Walters-Field

Intention: “I pin my hopes to quiet processes and small circles, in which vital and transforming events take place.” (Quaker Faith & Practice)
Description: A story of heritage, experiences, and gifts of the spirit.
A life given and a life forged from influences, challenges and change, while holding on to a life that is one’s own.
From village to city, from sea to lake and from the familiar to the implications of the new.

Quaker Studies

Daily Monday-Friday 9-13 August
11 Pacific | 12 Mountain | 1 Central | 2 Eastern | 3 Atlantic | 3:30 Newfoundland

Things That are Eternal
by Janet Ross

“Seek to know one another in the things that are eternal” is a familiar phrase to many from Fox’s journal, and made more well-known through Britain Yearly Meeting’s Advices & Queries #18. But what does this mean? What can it mean when justice is too often thin and seemingly out of reach? How do we know one another in this way? How does knowing in this way impact and change our communities, our relationships, and ourselves? Can such knowledge strengthen and energize us for the realities of our world?

Quaker Study at #CYM2021 will be co-facilitated by Janet Ross and others from Winnipeg Monthly Meeting. We are looking forward to studying and learning together, listening to the Spirit’s leading and the still small voice that calls us to account amidst noise and chaos.

Children and Youth Program

Daily Monday-Friday 9-13 August

7:30 Pacific | 8:30 Mountain | 9:30 Central | 10:30 Eastern | 11:30 Atlantic | Noon Newfoundland
30 minutes

Simon Daley

The children’s programming will consist of 30 minutes of Zoom activity in the morning before adult programming begins, with accompanying offline activities to complete during the day.

Youth 13+ may choose to participate in Canadian Young Friends Yearly Meeting (CYFYM) programming (details TBA).

All activities except the initial orientation (on Sunday) are optional. If the participant and a parent/guardian are unable to both attend the orientation session (August 8th at 11am PT/2pm ET) please contact CYMChildrenAndYouth2021@gmail.com or let us know below.

The interactive (online) portion of the program will be hosted on the video conferencing platform Zoom. If you are unfamiliar with that platform or need help accessing technology needed to participate, please contact your monthly meeting for support. If you are unaffiliated with a monthly meeting or your monthly meeting is unable to help, please contact CYMChildrenAndYouth2021@gmail.com.

You can also provide input on programming.

 

Retreat: How does poetry renew your spirit?

You’re invited to the pre-CYM retreat for 2021. All are welcome to join Saturday August 7th!

*** News Flash: Two additional options have been added (July 31, 2021) ***

Continuing Meeting of Ministry and Counsel has asked several published Canadian Quaker poets to lead a retreat that is meant to be thoughtful, inspiring, and fun, and will bring us together across our enforced distances. Six options (in two sessions) will have us thinking and feeling about nature, learning about minimalist poems, writing from present experience or remembered past, exploring rhyme and metre, and no doubt more, as participants bring their own ideas to the sessions.

Please register for the retreat (in addition to CYM attendance) by August 5th so that the leaders have a day to gather any poems submitted, consider the material, and contact registrants if necessary. You may register for one session in each of the two time slots, or at just one. Please indicate your preferred option, in case the number of registrants exceeds the maximum; if this happens we will try to ensure that registrants receive their first choice option in at least one session.

 

Full Schedule

There’s all sorts of exciting things happening during Yearly Meeting in Session. You can check out: