The next Representative Meeting will take place Saturday May 14 at 10:30 Pacific, 11:30 Mountain, 12:30 Central, 1:30 Eastern and 2:30 Atlantic.

To join, use this Zoom link:
https://us02web.zoom.us/j/8671213216?pwd=VlRCRHhpSFFhRHllS2dBcHNnc1kvdz09

Or use the following info:
Zoom Meeting ID: 867 121 3216
Passcode: CYM1955 (on phone: 5144807)

To join by phone, you can use the following numbers, picking whichever are code is closest to you:
+1 613 209 3054 Canada
+1 647 374 4685 Canada
+1 647 558 0588 Canada
+1 778 907 2071 Canada
+1 438 809 7799 Canada
+1 587 328 1099 Canada Meeting

Here are the preparatory documents:

      PDF
      PDF
      PDF

Celebrate the Archives Reopening with us!

We are delighted to announce the Canadian Quaker Library & Archives is re-opening. Archives Committee invite you to celebrate this reopening online with us on Monday, May 2, starting at 8 pm Atlantic, 7 pm Eastern, 6 pm Central, 5 pm Mountain and 4 pm Pacific.

Canadian Yearly Meeting’s new Archivist, Michelle Tolley, will join us live from the archives on May 2. To join, follow this Zoom link or use the Zoom Meeting ID 867 121 3216 and passcode CYM1955

Accessing the Archives in person

In-person access to our collection will also soon be possible by appointment with Michelle. We ask that you be double vaccinated, wear a mask, and complete pre-appointment covid-19 screening. (Go the Archives Contact page for all the ways be in touch about visits.)

Depositing Documents

We invites all CYM Meetings, bodies, and committees to resume depositing your minutes, attachments and other documents to the archives. These will join the records already held by the CYM Library & Archives. Such documents enrich the history of Quakers in Canada and bear witness to contributions made by Quakers to the wider history of Canada, especially in areas of faith and social justice work. All deposited records remain the property of the depositing body.

Please check our updated list of Meeting/Committee deposits to assess the records already held by the CQLA for your Meeting or committee. Also on the website is the updated catalogue of records currently held in the CQLA – all 301 pages uploaded on April 6th – which joins the inventory of the over 5000 titles held in the Library.

Please see the printable Deposit Guidelines Brochure (PDF) for more information on what and how to deposit.

Confidentiality of Deposits

We also need help with some important information about confidentiality. Following archival best practices, all documents deposited at the archives are unavailable to users, except for the  depositing body, for a period of 30 years.

However, depositing bodies may choose to change the period of time for which their documents are held confidentially. For example, Meetings may wish a longer period of confidentiality for records of its Meeting of Ministry & Counsel. Some Meetings already have named a longer period. Meetings also may decide to have their records available without a period of confidentiality.

Please confirm to the  CYM Archivist the period of confidentiality that your Meeting or committee wants for your records so that we can better serve you and researchers.

(This information in this post is also available as a Letter from Archives (PDF) you can print, and there is a PDF poster for Reopening Celebration.)

With our summer Yearly Meeting online focusing on spiritual growth and socializing, online CYM business work is sometimes needed to supplement Representative Meeting.

This means an online CYM Meeting for Worship for Business will be held on Saturday June 12th at

  • 10:30 a.m. Pacific
  • 11:30 a.m. Mountain
  • 12:30 p.m. Central
  • 1:30 p.m. Eastern
  • 2:30 p.m. Atlantic, and
  • 3:00 p.m. Newfoundland.

Another session will happen Saturday June 26th, in the same time slot. Publications & Communications Committee will be presenting their Reporting & Clearness session online.

All Friends are welcome to attend both meetings, and should block off about three hours in their calendar. To prepare for the first meeting, see the agenda and the two reports. Documents for the second session will be posted to Documents in Advance, once they’re available.

How to Join

Join Zoom Meeting:
zoom.us/j/9061076645?pwd=MlVraDRTaWgwOXhvSXVEMk5RbS9Ydz09

Meeting ID: 906 107 6645
Passcode: CYM1955

Mobile users should be able to tap on this inscrutable code to join by phone:

If that doesn’t work, dial 438-809-7799 or 587-328-1099 and, when prompted, enter 906 107 6645 for the Meeting ID and 4107169 as the password.

Landline users can join by calling whichever area code is closest to them. (Please note that long distance charges may apply, depending on your plan and whether your phone company considers the closest area code a local call.)

Calgary 587-328-1099
Manitoba 204-272-7920
Montreal 438-809-7799
Toronto 647-374-4685 or 647-558-0588
Vancouver  778-907-2071

After dialing, when prompted, enter 906 107 6645# for the Meeting ID and 4107169# as the password. To mute or unmute during the call, press 6*, and to ‘raise hand’ press *9.

Zoom Support

We ask Friends to reach out to encourage and support Friends who have little or no experience with Zoom. Friends might find the CYM Zoom Manual for Business Meeting (pdf) helpful.

Help is also available from the CYM Office. We encourage Friends who are joining Zoom for the first time to connect with a staff person by phone for assistance in downloading and accessing Zoom. To seek individual support from a staff member, please email or call 250-516-3625.

The next Representative Meeting will be held May 15, 2021, while the next CYM Meeting for Worship for Business will be on June 12. Both will be held online – details will be here, on the business homepage – and both will start at 1:30pm eastern daylight time.

CYM will engage in a threshing process to prepare for the February 6 CYM Meeting for Worship for Business, which includes a proposal to lay down the food co-op.

For details, see:
Recommendation to Lay Down the CYM Food Co-op (PDF)

Two threshing sessions are scheduled to accommodate Friends across the 5 time zones, and work/life schedules. Friends are asked to only attend one of the two sessions. The CYM Secretary will clerk the meetings.

Times for Two Threshing Sessions

  • Session 1 – Saturday 30 January, 2021
    • 2:30-4:30pm Newfoundland and Labrador
    • 2:00-4:00pm Atlantic
    • 1:00-3:00pm Eastern
    • 12:00-2:00pm Central
    • 11:00am-1:00ppm Mountain
    • 10:00am-12:00pm Pacific
  • Session 2 – Monday 1 February, 2021
    • 7:30-9:30pm Newfoundland and Labrador
    • 7:00-9:00pm Atlantic
    • 6:00-8:00pm Eastern
    • 5:00-7:00pm Central
    • 4:00-6:00pm Mountain
    • 3:00-5:00pm Pacific

Process

  • Introductions
  • Worship sharing re: Food Co-op
  • Minuting the sense of the threshing session
  • Closing Worship

How to Join

Please use the following Zoom information to join the Threshing Session.

Joining by computer:
Link: https://zoom.us/j/9061076645?pwd=MlVraDRTaWgwOXhvSXVEMk5RbS9Ydz09
Meeting ID: 906 107 6645
Passcode: CYM1955

Joining by Phone:
Meeting ID: 906 107 6645
Passcode: 4107169
Numbers:

Calgary +1 587 328 1099
Manitoba +1 204 272 7920
Montreal +1 438 809 7799
Toronto +1 647 374 4685 or +1 647 558 0588
Vancouver +1 778 907 2071

Thank you,
CYM Clerks and Staff

Dear Friends,

It is that time of year again when we look at the needs of our Yearly Meeting and consider how we and those known to us may be of service through our nominations process.

2020 has been a difficult year in many respects, but there have been many uplifting times as well. As a Yearly Meeting we have adapted to a new way of being together and of conducting our Business. However, not being able to sit together to chat or discuss issues of importance takes a toll on our sense of community. This is also a concern for the CYM Nominating Committee as we seek nominations from within our community to fill the roles that allow CYM to do our work.

Each year Canadian Yearly Meeting names people from across the country to serve on standing committees and in individual positions in the Yearly Meeting. We ask these people to carry out, on our behalf, the work of the Society, and to provide support to those Friends working in social justice, ecumenism, and wider Quaker and world affairs.

We ask that Monthly Meetings and Standing Committees to discern and forward names to CYM Nominating Committee as we discern a slate of names to bring to CYM or Representative Meeting for approval. Recommendations of Monthly Meetings and Standing Committees are crucial to the work of CYM Nominating Committee, to ensure that the work is shared among all meetings according to the abilities and interests of members.

Please take a look at the 2021 Nominations Package  (PDF), which includes:
1) Guidelines for Monthly Meetings
2) List of Vacancies
3) Friends Currently Serving CYM Who Are Eligible for Renomination
4) Nomination Form – also available as a separate DOC file, to be more easily filled out
5) CYM Nominations Timeline
6) Friends Serving CYM (as of January 27*), which is a separate PDF

*The most recent official list can always be found on the Friends Serving CYM page.

CYM Clerks Committee is organizing a threshing session to consider the future of Food Co-op and to discern whether a recommendation to lay it down is the right way forward.

The report and recommendation can be found on page two of this document:
2021 Threshing Session on Food Coop (PDF)

Please go to this Doodle Poll  to assist us in scheduling the threshing session, ahead of this business coming to the floor of the CYM Session on February 6, 2021.

The Doodle Poll will close at midnight on Monday January 25. The best day and time will then be published as part of an additional invitation for Friends to attend this threshing session.

As we face another year without an in-person Yearly Meeting, Clerks’ Committee have planned two virtual CYM Meetings for Worship for Business on January 23 and February 6 at 1:30 p.m. eastern time (10:30 pacific, 11:30 mountain, 12:30 central, 2:30 atlantic).

Please attend, and please encourage other Friends to join you! We especially need help inviting Friends who are less plugged into online happenings.

Why do business online?

The online version of CYM 2020 did not involve business sessions, but focussed on on spiritual development, opportunities to socialize and connect, and workshops on social and environmental justice. Extra sessions of Representative Meeting covered necessary business, but now we need to do CYM business which can only be done at CYM – in particular, to consider reforms proposed by the Change and Sustainable Transformation (CAST) working group.

For a fuller explanation of this decision, please see this CYM Clerk’s letter:
Clerk’s Message – Invitation to Virtual Business (PDF)

All the documents you will need to participate in an informed way at these sessions will be posted to Documents in Advance as they arrive.

How to Join

Again, the meetings will be January 23 and February 6 at 1:30 p.m. eastern time (10:30 pacific, 11:30 mountain, 12:30 central, 2:30 atlantic). They are scheduled to last 3.5 hours.

Here is the Zoom link to join these sessions:

zoom.us/j/9061076645?pwd=MlVraDRTaWgwOXhvSXVEMk5RbS9Ydz09
Meeting ID: 906 107 6645
Passcode: CYM1955

Mobile users should be able to tap on this inscrutable code to join by phone:

+14388097799,,9061076645#,,,,*4107169# or
+15873281099,,9061076645#,,,,*4107169#

If that doesn’t work, dial 438-809-7799 or 587-328-1099 and, when prompted, enter 906 107 6645 for the Meeting ID and 4107169 as the password.

Landline users can join by calling whichever area code is closest to them. (Please note that long distance charges may apply, depending on your plan and whether your phone company considers the closest area code a local call.)

Calgary 587-328-1099
Manitoba 204-272-7920
Montreal 438-809-7799
Toronto 647-374-4685 or 647-558-0588
Vancouver 778-907-2071

After dialing, , when prompted, enter 906 107 6645# for the Meeting ID and 4107169# as the password. To mute or unmute during the call, press 6*, and to ‘raise hand’ press *9.

Zoom Support

We ask Friends to reach out to encourage and support Friends who have little or no experience with Zoom.

Help is also available from the CYM Office. Administration Staff will hold “Open-Office Zoom Hours” to help Friends with trouble-shooting and explain the CYM Zoom protocols. Here’s the schedule:

Thursday January 14

12:30 – 3:30 pm Atlantic
11:30 am – 2:30 pm Eastern
10:30 am – 1:30 pm Central
9:30 am – 12:30 pm Mountain
8:30 – 11:30 am Pacific

Tuesday January 19

12:30 – 2:00 pm Atlantic
11:30 am – 1:00 pm Eastern
10:30 am – 12:00 pm Central
9:30 – 11:00 am Mountain
8:30 – 10:00 am Pacific

We encourage Friends who are joining Zoom for the first time to connect with a staff person by phone for assistance in downloading and accessing Zoom. To seek individual support from a staff member, please email or call 250-516-3625.

If you would like all this Zoom information as printable PDFs, here it is:
2021 Business Zoom Links & Support (PDF)
2021 Business Zoom by Phone (PDF)

There is also a detailed manual explaining how to use Zoom for these CYM Business Meetings:
CYM Zoom Manual for Business Meeting (PDF)

The July 2020 letter from Contributions Committee, which was mailed to many Friends and which discusses donations and digital accessibility, is now available online:
Letter from Contributions Committee (PDF)

Hello Friends in CYM,

This post is to inform you of the work of the Change and Sustainable Transformation Working Group (CAST) of Canadian Yearly Meeting and to bring our initial recommendations to you.

CAST’S Mandate

CAST was established in March 2020 with a mandate from Representative Meeting in February, as follows.

  • Identify commonalities and themes from the national consultation of the Ad Hoc Committee on Financial Sustainability and draw on other resources to draft:
    1. a description of the purpose of CYM;
    2. a list of CYM’s needs and priorities;
    3. a list of associated programs and services; and
    4. proposed next steps for possible adjustments based on the above.
  • Plan and engage in a process to bring forward the above drafts for documents in advance for 2020 CYM in Session to move this work forward after 2020 CYM in Session.
  • After CYM in Session:
    1. correlate the identified priorities, programs, and services with costs and our financial reality;
    2. communicate the financial limitations to pertinent CYM committees;
    3. present recommendations to Finance Committee; and
    4. report and present matters to Representatives Meeting in November 2020.
  • Support ongoing communication flow regarding the progress of the work, especially with CYM and Monthly Meetings.
  • Continue to support ongoing organizational transformation and the sustainability of CYM grounded in Quaker faith, practice, and process.

Draft Statement of CYM Purpose

A draft statement of CYM purpose was sent to Monthly Meetings in late May with a request for feedback. We have received suggestions and we would like discussion at Representative Meeting on the draft statement. We ask you to consider it and send any more responses to and have your representative prepared to speak to it at the next on-line Representative Meeting on July 4.

CYM draft ‘statement of purpose’ from the Change and Sustainable Transformation Working Group (CAST):

Canadian Yearly Meeting of the Religious Society of Friends (Quakers) unites its constituent Meetings to uphold faith and practice in the manner of Friends, seeking to be open to new Light as we collectively discern how we are led to witness in the world.

Draft Priorities for Canadian Yearly Meeting

In early June we sent to Monthly Meetings a draft statement of priorities for CYM to be discussed at Representative Meeting on July 4. It is as follows:

Priorities for Canadian Yearly Meeting, in no particular order, as drafted by CAST on June 4, 2020:)

  • To support Friends in Canada with resources and connections that nurture the spiritual communities nationally, regionally and locally.
  • To sustain a collective voice.
  • To provide opportunities to learn about Friends’ ways and affirm our Quaker identity.
  • To ensure our use of resources is sustainable in terms of volunteer energy, finances and environmental impacts.
  • To support youth involvement within the Quaker community including provision of finances, staff resources, and assistance to pursue leadings and hold gatherings.
  • To carry out the business of the yearly meeting in a worshipful manner, demonstrating
  • our discernment process as a spiritual practice.
  • To enable seekers to find and connect with Canadian Quakers
  • To support the Canadian Friends Service Committee with peace and justice initiatives.

Recommendations

We are discussing ideas for restructuring how we do Yearly Meeting business. We believe that in 2021 we will need to have a national CYM in Session (in Winnipeg as planned), as it would not be good process to make substantial changes in our structure and format without a full face-to-face meeting. However, we suggest that our 2021 session can be modified from past practice to respond to some of the suggestions made during the Ad Hoc Committee on Financial Sustainability consultations.

We ask Representative Meeting to discuss the following recommendations:

  • We recommend that CYM move more of its business to Representative Meeting. For example, Yearly Meeting in Session would be responsible for significant changes to our organization and our witness to the wider world. Representative Meeting would be responsible for all other decisions. Representative Meeting would need to meet twice a year and some decisions could be made by on-line conferencing.
  • Over the years it has been mentioned that more CYM business could be done by Regional and Half-Yearly meetings. As the capability and willingness of these meetings to do Yearly Meeting business is not apparent, we recommend that CYM not delegate CYM business to regional meetings.
  • We recommend that Clerks’ Committee be authorized to do CYM business that is of a practical and procedural nature. Some of the work can be done in joint meetings with CYM committees.
  • We recommend that CYM in Session 2021 be held in Winnipeg as planned. However, we recommend that it be a five-day Yearly Meeting instead of eight and that CYM in Session have much shorter business sessions and focus mainly on spiritual renewal, peace and service, and Quaker education.

We are looking at a possible different structure for CYM in Session in the future to address travel and climate issues and to make CYM in Session accessible to more Friends.

Future Work

CAST will also be addressing:

  • supporting and engaging Quaker Youth
  • CYM staffing
  • sustainability from an environmental perspective, and
  • financial sustainability

We look forward to input from all parts of our Canadian Yearly Meeting. Send replies to .

In Friendship,

Change and Sustainable Transformation Working Group (CAST): Marilyn Manzer (clerk), Virginia Dawson, Zaley Warkentin, Pete Cross, Celia Cheatley, Wesley Weima