“Uh-oh, was that a leading?” Online Quaker Course

Please note: This course is now full. We are taking names on our waitlist, which will be closed on April 9, 2021. The demand for this course was very high, and we had to limit enrollments so that people are able to connect closely in community.

Quaker facilitator Jackie Bonner will be leading an online 6-week session called “Uh-oh, was that a leading?” Sponsored by the Education and Outreach Committee of Canadian Yearly Meeting, the course will run on Saturdays from April 10 to May 15, 2021.

Who is it for?

We recommend that participants have taken the Quaker 101 course, or have been attending Meetings or participating in Quakers life for at least a year.

What will the course cover?

What does it mean to be led by the Spirit? As Quakers we need to root ourselves in tradition but also be open to continuing guidance in changing circumstances. We need to remain open to the promptings of love, truth and commitment to discernment – as led by the Spirit.

Early Friends believed in leadings of the Spirit but their writings only give a general sense of what that might mean. What is a leading? How do we know when we’re being led? And how can we know when we are definitely not being led? Although there are no simple answers to these questions, the very least we can do is put our heads and hearts together and share our experience as we live our lives.

Topics will include:

  • Exploration of the concept of “leadings”
  • Readings and discussion on how early Friends and Friends throughout history have understood “leadings”
  • Quaker Humour
  • Opportunity to Discern what is and what is not a “leading
  • Exploration of what participants are experiencing and learning during the course

There are readings, activities, and homework for each session. The course includes worship, storytelling, reflections from readings, and the experiential application to one’s own life of what is learned. Central to the course is the chance to share our experience of Spirit in our lives.

How much does it cost?

The course costs $30 per participant. Payment details are on the course’s Registration page. There’s also an option to waive the fee due to financial hardship.

When, exactly, will it run?

The course will run for 1.5-2.0 hours each Saturday, from April 10 to May 15, 2021, beginning at the following times:

  • 2:00pm Newfoundland/Labrador
  • 1:30pm Atlantic
  • 12:30pm Eastern
  • 11:30am Central
  • 10:30am Mountain
  • 9:30am Pacific

How do you join?

Register using this google form. Registration closes April 9, 2021!

More Questions?

Please contact and our staff will forward emails to the appropriate people.